What it is to live in two cities, 

You wake up in one but long for the other, 

You work in one but seek comfort of the other,

You live in one, but miss the connection of the other. 

There are days when you wake up, 

Only to acknowledge that you are not in the city you love, 

There are days when you try hard to sleep, 

because you know this is not where you ought to be.

Two years since my biggest dream came to life, 

And two years since I realized that I could even love a city so much.

As days of struggle passed by and the reality of the dream sunk in, 

It became clear that it’s the warmth I seek and not success. 

Warmth of my home, my place, 

Warmth of mumma’s delicious food and papa’s bear hugs, 

Warmth of my brothers nonstop chattering

And warmth of the society’s bantering.

Now you must think, are these feelings truly warm, 

Well they are because they are so deeply rooted to emotions. 

Emotions I feel when I look outside my window, 

When I drive late nights into the city lights.

So there is so much that the city holds, 

Of course a huge part of it is my home, 

But there is also the people, the passion, the hustle & compassion, 

The humility yet the strong force. 

Two years since I realized that we all grew up,

Running towards our dream we forgot what we left behind.

And now we are all constantly running backwards, 

Only to catch the life we once lived in this city. 

One thought on “Living in Two Cities

Leave a comment